Menu
A+ A A-

Lifting Ball for Identification

In the area in which his ball presumably came to rest, a player finds a ball of the same brand, model and identification number as the ball he is playing. The player assumes it is his ball, even though it does not carry an identification mark as suggested in Rule 12-2, and plays it. Should the player be considered to have played a wrong ball?

No, unless (1) there is clear evidence that, because of the ball's condition, it is not the player's ball or (2) subsequently it is established that another ball of the same brand, model and identification number was lying in the area at the time the player played and either ball, from a condition standpoint, could be the player's ball.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0
Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
  • No comments found
back to top

Handicaps SMS Service

sms

Subscribe now and ensure that you are never in doubt about your latest handicap.

More Information

HNA Handicaps iPhone, Android and Mobi Browser App

iphone

The HNA Handicaps App is available for free to all registered golfers.

More Information

Keep up to date

Keep up to date with all the HNA news & exclusive promotions