A+ A A-

Ball Lifted and Dropped Away from Boundary Stake

A player's swing is interfered with by a stake defining out of bounds. The player mistakenly considers the stake an obstruction and he lifts his ball and drops it in the manner prescribed in Rule 24-2b. What is the ruling?

The player incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and he must replace his ball before playing his next stroke. Otherwise, he loses the hole in match play or he incurs a total penalty of two strokes in stroke play - see penalty statement under Rule 18.

Latest from

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
  • Guest - Editor

    Hi Afzul, out of bounds stakes aren't considered obstructions, and thus cannot be moved legally. A player would incur a two-shot penalty in stroke play if they were to remove it.

  • Guest - Afzul Bava

    What if the person removes the stake plays his shot and replaces the stake. Is that allowed. Thanks

  • Guest - Danie

    The player can always declare his ball unplayable an procede accordingly

back to top

Handicaps SMS Service


Subscribe now and ensure that you are never in doubt about your latest handicap.

More Information

HNA Handicaps iPhone, Android and Mobi Browser App


The HNA Handicaps App is available for free to all registered golfers.

More Information

Keep up to date

Keep up to date with all the HNA news & exclusive promotions