A+ A A-

Stroke Played with Ball Out of Bounds

A player plays a stroke at his ball which is lying out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A ball lying out of bounds is no longer in play and thus is a wrong ball – see Definitions of “Ball in Play” and “Wrong Ball”. Accordingly, in match play, the player loses the hole. In stroke play, he incurs a two-stroke penalty and must proceed under Rule 27-1, incurring the additional one-stroke penalty prescribed in that Rule.

Latest from

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
  • No comments found
back to top

Handicaps SMS Service


Subscribe now and ensure that you are never in doubt about your latest handicap.

More Information

HNA Handicaps iPhone, Android and Mobi Browser App


The HNA Handicaps App is available for free to all registered golfers.

More Information

Keep up to date

Keep up to date with all the HNA news & exclusive promotions